Frequently Asked Questions
Curious about cannabis? Interested in getting your medical marijuana card? We’re here to help! If your question is not answered here, please drop us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org or give us a call at 978-272-2273.
Adult-use cannabis retailers serve anyone over the age of 21. To shop for medical marijuana in Massachusetts, you are required to have an active medical marijuana card from the Cannabis Control Commission.
Central Ave Compassionate Care is a non-profit organization established to serve medical marijuana patients registered with the Cannabis Control Commission who are suffering from a debilitating qualifying condition. Central Ave, located at 31 Central Avenue in Ayer, Massachusetts, is a Registered Marijuana Dispensary for the production and dispensing of cannabis for medical use. Products will be dispensed to only qualified, registered patients or their registered caregivers, as permitted under state law.
Visiting Central Ave. FAQs
We are currently able to accept cash and debit cards. Debit cards are processed through our cashless ATM system and are subject to a $3.50 convenience charge with a limit of $500 per day.
When you arrive at the dispensaryHold your Patient ID card or Temporary ID card up to the security camera located outside of the vestibule and our security agent will let you in. Once inside the vestibule, hand your Patient ID card and a valid form of identification to security so they can check you into the system and validate you are registered with the state. For new patients, the security agent will create a profile for you in our point of sale system and then direct you to take a Patient Intake form to be filled out. At this time you will be let into the dispensary where you can find an available seat to fill out the paperwork. If you have any questions or concerns with the paperwork, an available agent will be more than happy to assist. If you would like to download this form in advance: download it here
Once the patient intake form is completed & signedFeel free to relax with a menu or take a look at our flower and accessories display. When you feel you are ready, just join the line or head right up to an available dispensing agent. The agent will check your Patient ID card and identification a second time as well as take your Patient Intake form. At this time they will enter the rest of your information into your newly created profile. If you haven’t placed an online order already or need more assistance with our menu, please feel free to ask any questions you may have. Our agents are trained to answer any questions about our products and assist you in choosing the best product specific to your needs. Once your order has been placed and confirmed by you, you will then pay with cash or a debit card which will include an additional $3.50 bank fee. Products are confirmed once more as they are placed in a bag along with your receipt stapled to the outside of the bag. (Products will be dispensed to only qualified, registered patients or their registered caregivers and may not be distributed to any other individual, as permitted under state law.)
When leaving the dispensaryMake sure all products are placed in the trunk of your car or in a place that cannot be accessed easily by the driver. It is against the law to consume any marijuana product in a public space including your own car. Driving under the influence of cannabis is prohibited by M.G.L. c. 90, § 24, and machinery should not be operated. Make sure to keep all products out of reach of children and pets.
Please bring your patient ID card or temporary patient ID, and a second form of ID.
We are open Monday-Saturday from 10 am - 7 pm
Closed on Sundays
Yes! We are open for walk-ins Monday-Saturday, 10 am - 7 pm.
Closed on Sunday
No, appointments are not required to visit Central Ave.
Central Ave is only open to registered medical marijuana patients or their caregivers who are registered with the Cannabis Control Commission. It is not open to the general public.
Becoming a Patient FAQs
No, medical marijuana is not covered by insurance at this time.
Unfortunately we are unable to accept out of state medical marijuana cards at this time.
We encourage any patient with questions regarding strain selection, dosage, administration or anything else cannabis related to schedule a consultation with us. Our staff is here to help you feel educated and empowered when making your selections. Please call us at 978-772-2273 to schedule a consultation.
There are so many benefits to becoming a registered medical marijuana patient!
- There is no tax on medical marijuana purchases for registered patients. (Adult-use or recreational purchases are charged a 20% Marijuana Retail Tax.)
- Registered patients have access to sales, specials and promotions. (Recreational shops are not permitted to run specials, sales, promotions or discounts of any kind.)
- Registered patients can purchase up to a 60-day supply of cannabis. (Recreational purchases are limited to 1 oz per day.)
- Registered patients have access to edibles with higher dosage limits.
A personal caregiver is a registered individual that can perform the following duties: transport a patient to and from a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MTC), obtain and transport marijuana from an MTC on behalf of a patient, cultivate marijuana on behalf of a patient who has obtained a hardship cultivation registration, prepare marijuana for consumption by a patient, and administer marijuana to a patient.
Registered patients have the option of designating up to two personal caregivers to assist with the medical use of cannabis. In order to designate a personal caregiver, patients must log into the MMJ Online System and under the “My Caregivers” section, generate a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for potential caregiver(s). For step by step instructions on how to select a personal caregiver with the Cannabis Control Commission, please click here.
Qualifying conditions include: Cancer, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, Multiple sclerosis (MS), and other debilitating conditions as determined in writing by a certified physician.
To qualify as a patient you must obtain a certification from a qualifying licensed physician. A qualifying physician is a Massachusetts licensed physician (Medical Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathy) registered with the Cannabis Control Commission who certifies that in their professional opinion, the potential benefits of medical use of cannabis would likely outweigh any health risks that may be associated. If you are having difficulty locating a physician you can search the internet for “MA Medical Marijuana Doctors” to find a qualified licensed physician with the Cannabis Control Commission. The qualifying physician will evaluate you to determine if you are qualified for the medical use of marijuana program. If you are qualified, your physician will issue you a certification through the Cannabis Control Commission MMJ Online System. Once your physician has issued you a certification, you will receive your initial access temporary ID, they will give you instructions on how to register through the MMJ Online System and a Personal Identification Number (PIN). This PIN is required for you to register in the MMJ Online System.